Top 12 From 2012

Looking back at 2012 it was certainly a hard year to get out and do as much landscape photography as I would like, especially with our first (and last) child who was born at the end of 2011 . Lot’s of people wrongly assume being a professional landscape photographer photographer you can simply go out and shoot what you want when you want and because of this you can get the best light. The reality is finding time can often be a real challenge. Workshops and commissioned landscape photography left me with probably less than one morning or afternoon a week to get out last year to shoot what I want. So I was certainly more selective with the locations I choose, most being quite close to home.

With commissioned photography shoots I did have the chance to shoot lots of locations I had not shot before. Often with commissioned landscape photography you can be shooting those locations that are less photographic or those locations which are not really shot by many photographers, hence the shortage of material out there and the need for a photographer to be commissioned. Although I must admit I did get the chance to spot one or two really nice locations and I am looking forward to getting back to them for my own photography some time.

The plan for 2013 is certainly to continue being more selective about locations rather than just heading out for the sake of it. I am hoping to get in a few more trips to other locations in the UK this year, if the weather plays ball. And I must remember to shoot more panoramics as they always sell really well, but I am forever leaving the panoramic tripod head at home.

Throughout 2012 I invested in a large format A1 Epson printer which has been a fantastic, albeit expensive to run if you don’t use it lots every day. We also have a family friend who is a picture framer and he trained me up on framing throughout the year and before I know it I had invested in a full framing workshop. This has been great at handling my own orders, especially Christmas which was my busiest yet with framed Print orders. I have also been doing a bit of framing and printing for other photographers I know and will begin offering this service to other photographers over the next month or so. The website is almost built, it just needs a few last finishing touches.

_MG_9992Frosty Edge in the Peak District, UK

_MG_0108Frosty Ramshaw Rocks at First Light, Staffordshire, UK

_MG_0658Tulip Field in the Norfolk Countryside, UK

_MG_0740Standing out in a crowd

untitled-4204Barley At Last Light, Norfolk

_MG_4508-2CroppedSummer Storm at Happisburgh on the Norfolk Coast

_MG_0671More Tulips

2012-9883Autumn On The Norfolk Broads

2012-0007Stanage Edge in the Autumn

2012-0345A frosty dawn at Thetford Forest

2012-0821sssaWinterton on the Norfolk Coast

2012-0927One of the last shots I took in 2012 is Berney Arms on a frosty morning on the Norfolk Broads.

5 thoughts on “Top 12 From 2012

  1. the frosty images are all just spectacular! you’ll normally associate the UK with rain, but frost is definitely something out of the usual!

Leave a Reply

