Herringlfeet Smock Mill, Suffolk

Herringfleet is a unique black smock drainage mill on the Suffolk side of the Norfolk & Suffolk border. The Mill was built around 1820 and is one of the fine st mills to photograph in the UK. The mill stands in the middle of the Herringfleet Marshes and photographs well at all times of the day.

Here the mill is illuminated at last light reflecting in a small dyke in front of the mill.

This image was captured at sunrise following an overnight winter hoarfrost. If you look carefully it’s possible to see the reeds covered in tiny delicate ice crystals. By placing one of the reed stems in front of the sun I was able to illuminate problems with lens flare from the rising sun.

Here the mill was captured on a summers morning from the back of the mill, the fantastic colours of the old iron pumping shed next to the mill can be seen here.

Warm evening light illuminates the reeds and the mill.

This image sat on my hard drive unprocessed for two years before I processed the raw file. In the first month of sending it to image libraries and my customers it appeared on five magazine front covers around the world.

Herringfleet mill at sunset

Herringfleet following an overnight winter hoarfrost

6 thoughts on “Herringlfeet Smock Mill, Suffolk

  1. You’ve done a great work with this. For a while I’ve had a question about photography – is it fair, worthwhile to take photos of one and the same place if it always looks differently. Now I have the answer, it definitely is.
    Stunning!

    1. Hi Alexandra, thank you for your kind comments.

      I think there are two main approaches with landscape photography, one is to shoot as many different locations as possible and not really shoot locations that they have done before, this approach reminds me a bit of twitches and their photography how they tick off a list of different species and are more interested in only birds that they have not yet ticked off. This approach works very well for some photographers and there is nothing wrong with this method in my opinion.

      Many years ago when I started photography I assisted a very good professional photographer who had some brilliant advice for me, he said “there is nothing wrong with shooting a location that has been done thousands of times before as long as you make sure you do it better than everybody else” this advice has always stuck with me. I know if I keep re-visiting a location my best shot from it is always around the corner.

      Sometimes you get lucky and get your best shot on the first visit, but for me I think as nature and light are always changing you can always get something completely different. This is the method I tend to work from, I think sometimes quality and a variety of shots from a location is more important than quantity from lots of different locations. Hope this makes sense.

      All the best for the New Year and I hope 2012 rewards you with some fantastic images.

      Chris

      1. Thank you for your reply, Chris, I’ll treat your comment as a New Year present, if you don’t mind, because there’s so much food for thought, I feel like I’ve grown after reading it.
        I wish you all the best too!

  2. Every one a winner in my eyes Chris. I have really enjoyed your calender. Thank you. I hope you have a Happy New Year and a great 2012.

Leave a Reply

